Regulatory Colleges

In Canada, professional regulation is the responsibility of provincial and territorial governments and a number of Ministries of Health have been involved in the regulation of the counselling/psychotherapy profession. Regulatory “colleges” are established with the primary goal of protecting the public, while a professional association such as CASC/ACSS is primarily concerned with enhancing and supporting you and the profession itself. Five provinces have passed legislation regarding the regulation of counselling/psychotherapy (Alberta, Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia) with plans being put in place in most other provinces.

While belonging to a regulatory “college” of counselling/psychotherapy is not an expectation of CASC/ACSS, many members across the country decide to join the college in their province because of the benefits this provides or the expectations of their employers.

Click on the links below to learn about regulation in your region, or speak with your PPC Regional Chair: